06 December 2010

Barca Trio Battle for Ballon d'Or honour

Andres Iniesta, Xavi , and Lionel Messi have been shortlisted for the world's best footballer or the 2010 FIFA Ballon d'or.Messi won the Ballon d'Or, or Golden Ball, award last year when France Football magazine chose the best player in Europe. The Golden Ball is being merged this year for the first time with FIFA's player of the year award to create one trophy.

They together in Barca helped securing Spanish League title.Spain's midfielder Iniesta and Xavi were the part of the inspirational World Cup truimph earlier in July beating Holland 1-0.Iniesta scored the only goal to write down Spain's name in the history and clinching the golden trophy. On the other hand Messi who had been named for the same honour the previous year again was in ruthless form this year. He scored 35 goals in 34 La Liga matches as Catalans won the 2009-10 Spanish title.This year who posted 15 goals in 12 league matches, althougth Argentina lost to Germany in the quarterfinals by a huge margin of 4-0, thus being some little bad patch for him regarding his standards.A single club never claimed the top three positions in the FIFA World Player of the Year award. The last time it happened in the Ballon d'Or was in 1989, when AC Milan's Marco van Basten claimed the crown, beating Franco Baresi and Frank Rijkaard. Van Basten also won a year earlier ahead of Milan and Holland team-mates Ruud Gullit and Rijkaard.


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger